Zone Senate Presidency To South East, Group Tells APC

A group which draws its members from the 36 states of the federation and the Federal Capital Territory, Concerned Nigerians for Sustainable Democracy, has called on the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the President-elect Bola Ahmed Tinubu to zone the office of the Senate President to South East.

The group urged the APC, the president-elect and other well-meaning Nigerians to ensure that the South East zone gets the Senate president’s office in the 10th Assembly.

At a press conference in Abuja, the convener/coordinator of the group, Dr Amos Gizo, said insecurity will be tackled if the South East gets the office of the Senate president, adding that the people from the region will feel they are carried along.

“At present, as we face the transition, there are negative agitations to truncate the will of the people where Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu has been voted by the majority votes to lead the nation yet, some other antidemocratic elements are calling for an interim government, military coup and a stoppage of the swearing of a new government on May 29th, 2023.

“We are calling on all well-meaning Nigerians to rise against these elements of anti-democracy and ensure that Democracy thrives and a smooth transition to swear in the President-Elect Senator Bola Ahmed Tinubu to take over in order to minimize the myriad of problems facing the country.

“The South East has two APC governors (Imo and Ebonyi) and one APC governor-elect of Ebonyi. South-South has one APC Governor (Cross-River State) and one Governor Elect in the same Cross River State.

“The South East has produced six APC senators-elect in the 2023 election from five states. South-South has six APC Senators-Elect in 2023 from six states.

“From 1999 till date, South-South has produced Vice-president and President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in the person of President Goodluck Jonathan, none from South-East

“The South-South has produced two APC National Chairmen – Chief John Oyegun and Adams Oshiomhole, none from South-East.

“The South South has also produced the National Secretary of APC in the person of Senator John Akpan Udodeghe. South South has produced a Senate Majority Leader in the person of Senator Victor Ndoma Egba. Currently, South-South has the deputy Senate President, HE Ovie Omo-agege. South Senate President from 1999 under Obasanjo and nothing more till date.

“Since then, the South-East has not produced any other top leadership under APC. Presently, there is a need to dilute the Peter Obi Phenomenon in the South-East.

“The need to give the South-East a sense of belonging since 2015 till date. APC need to douse the IPOB/ESN and general insecurity in the South-East. South-East is in the majority in terms of population spread across the federation against the South-South. Our position is to strengthen democracy, reduce political tension, reduce security threats and keep Nigeria one,” the group said.

“We are not mindful of the fact that democracy is a game of numbers but we are equally mindful that Nigeria is a cosmopolitan and a multi-religious state that needs special handling in the spirit of keeping the Nigerian state one.

“This world press conference desires all attention and with all seriousness to avoid an avoidable crisis,” the group added.